top of page

Sculpting The Environment: Wire Tree Garden

Sometimes we find we don't have enough time for the little things we enjoy, like gardening. Sometimes we find that we just don't have enough supplies or space for managing plants. I found there is little room and available time in my house for plants and that my huskies would probably knock my plants over anyway. Because of this, I decided to find a different way to maintain a small garden with significantly less of a hassle.

After visiting and purchasing a Mother's Day gift (a green wire tree) from the Fine Arts Fiesta, which is held annually in May in Wilkes-Barre, I decided that I wanted to try something similar. eventually I found myself at a craft store looking for beading wire and small rocks. Initially I was looking for different color rocks to purchase, but then I realized that I could probably color them myself. With some wire cutters, which I borrowed from my dad, I cut 1-foot long pieces of wire and twisted them together. After my first tree frame was complete, I learned that I would need a glove or some other protect instrument since the skin on my hand was being pinched by the wire. After the dyed rocks were dried and the frame was complete, I began piecing the rocks (and my fingers) together with super glue to form foliage, which I eventually stuck on the tree frame. In the slideshow above, the entire process is displayed.

Although the first time around was a bit painful, I found the tree-making to be enjoyable. I was honestly excited when the first tree came out looking fine, so I decided to make more as gifts for my classmates. The first tree, I decided, I would give to a friend, Jenay Zelinka, and the second tree was made for Demetrius Yeager.

bottom of page